Skip to content

opportunities abound! when did that happen?

February 1, 2010

Oh my goodness, you guys. I am just BURSTING with good news today! There are really just the two main things, but they are BIG things.

Number One: My tutor, aka pretty much the best person on the face of the earth, the one who got me into theater by giving me a job in which I had no experience whatsoever, has asked me to do that job (stage managing) for a production that she is doing in York after term ends.

!!!

So I don’t know the details yet, but the gist is I AM GOING TO YORK MY TUTOR IS AWESOME OMG.

Number Two: Last week I applied to participate in a workshop that’s going on with a visiting professor– and there are a couple of things to know about this:

  1. The visiting professor is Stephen Garrett, executive chairman of Kudos Film (Life on Mars, Spooks/MI-5, Hustle)
  2. The other workshop leader is Ben Stephenson, Controller of BBC Drama Commissioning
  3. “The session will aim to come up with a new idea for a TV drama series, looking at what criteria both producers and commissioners look for in a new project”
  4. “Attendance is strictly limited” application necessary send a statement blah blah blah
  5. After spending the past week in a nearly constant state of nerves and related nausea, I GOT IN!!!!

So not to make this a post about how awesome I am or anything, but today, guys, I am awesome.

Incidentally I also wrote what I felt was a pretty decent essay today, and got some minor stuff accomplished for Henry VIII.

In celebration, I don’t know what to do! Take the evening off? Not worry about the screenplay? Eat some chocolate? All of the above? In short, YAY.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeanne Wisner permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:03 pm

    WOW! You ARE impressive! Do you need a laundress to travel along????

  2. Katherine permalink
    February 3, 2010 5:53 pm

    Very exciting!! Congratulations! and…You are awesome. I am in awe how awesome you are. 🙂
    I am also really enjoying reading your notes! It’s the most I’ve learned about what you’re doing in years! love…

Leave a Reply

