Skip to content

London to Edinburgh

December 7, 2009

I finished term on Friday after two Chaucer essays, two Mary Play performances, eight billion hours of rehearsals, Provost’s Collections, and packing up my life into boxes. I can’t believe the term is over already, but it is too early for reflection. As soon as it was done, I checked out of my room and out of Oxford to visit my friend Megan in London.

Traffic was a bitch on Saturday, but once I got there things got better quickly. We made curry for dinner with wine and strudel for desert and it was AMAZING. I got to hang out with Megan’s friends from King’s College London and we finished the night with Sleepless in Seattle, which is one of my most favorite movies. On Sunday we walked to Hampstead, took the tube to Covent Garden and walked through the indoor market with Lucy, one of Megan’s friends. Then they tried to show me the King’s library, which is closed to the public, and our sneaky card-swapping plan did not work out–we were really lucky they didn’t confiscate Megan’s ID! But they were nice to us and now it’s just funny. I did get to see the lobby.

Then Megan and I went to evening prayers at St Paul’s, which is just down the street from the King’s campus on the Strand. It was so beautiful, that place is just really peaceful and profound. Afterwards we went to Megan’s friend’s orchestra concert–they played Tchaikovsky and Brahms and the theme from Olivier’s Richard III, and they were SO good. Unfortunately we messed up planning and hadn’t eaten dinner yet when the concert got out around 10, and made the trek back to Hampstead absolutely starving, but then we made a ridiculous amount of pasta and cheese and leftover naan and frozen pastries. I can’t even describe how delicious that meal was.

This morning I made my way from Hampstead to Euston to catch my train to Edinburgh, and six hours later here I am at the cutest hostel ever. I’m writing this in SCOTLAND, in front of a FIRE, listening to Creedance Clearwater. I think I might save my touristy stuff for tomorrow, and just spend the rest of the afternoon relaxing.

After today I have come to the conclusion that trains are the only way to travel. I’m pretty sure I saw that bridge from Harry Potter on the way here–you know the one the Hogwarts Express goes over with the really tall arches underneath? Yeah. Or one that looked just like it. The countryside is beautiful, but coming out of Waverley station I thought I was in a fairy tale for a second. Edinburgh is SO BEAUTIFUL, it reminds me of Kingsbury from Howl’s Moving Castle. It’s too magical to be real, I swear.

Well. I am excited to look around!

ETA: Banner changed to photo of Edinburgh in honor of my trip 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:01 am

    pictures pictures pictures.

  2. Jay permalink
    December 8, 2009 3:50 am

    Glad you are safe and sound and having so much fun. And ditto Kathryn’s comment: Pictures! Please!

  3. Grandma Jeanne permalink
    December 11, 2009 12:23 pm

    Your travel adventures sound wonderful! Can”t wait to hear more in a couple of weeks. We are in the process of laying down the snow you requested!!!!

  4. Katherine permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:25 pm

    I love the way you write so conversationally! I can just see everything, as you express it. And you have a wonderful sense of humor! I am enjoying hearing about all of your experiences!!

Leave a Reply

