Skip to content

Writing film treatments when I should be reading Persuasion…

November 19, 2009

It’s been a while since my last update–sorry! A few bits of news:

I am moving into a different accommodation next term. Right now, I live with third- and fourth-year students, which in theory is great because they are about my age, but in practice is less great because a) they all know each other already, and b) they are studying for the exams that will determine whether or not they will graduate in the spring. My immediate neighbors are really nice, but I hardly ever see them. Also, the rest of the building is pretty noisy, and the other residents have complained multiple times about how dirty the kitchen is. The building is also a bit of a walk from the rest of the accommodations and the main part of college (it is on the other side of the athletic fields). I am moving to Gloucester House, which was renovated in 2007 and is apparently really nice–my neighbors are jealous. I’m just excited to be closer to everything.

In other news, I might be taking screenwriting in the spring. My current Austen tutor teaches it, and usually Oxford doesn’t let undergraduates take creative writing, but there’s a pretty good chance I’ll be able to (knock on wood). I really, really want to try it. It will take up the secondary tutorials for both spring terms, writing ~15 pages of script every two weeks, and hopefully by the end I’ll have a complete feature-length screenplay. Um. Wow.

Current plan for primary next term is Shakespeare, which in comparison will at least be familiar, if not easy.

Still trying to sort out December plans. Once term ends, I have five days/four nights during which I will be at loose ends; then on December 9th I’m going to Blackpool to see Ricky Gervais with a friend. She’s a big fan–I like him, but mostly I’m looking for opportunities to travel with someone! Hopefully we will have some time to look around and see what Blackpool is all about, and then we will head over to Ireland for a few days. I know that a tour of the Guinness factory is on the agenda–aside from that, I don’t know what exactly we’ll be doing. Then I will be flying to Vermont, probably on the 13th, to sleep for at least a week straight.

I was hoping to stay at my Grandmother’s friend’s flat in London between December 5 (end of term) and December 9 (Blackpool) so that I won’t have to pay for accommodation, but it looks like that won’t be working out after all. 😦  I’m thinking about going to London anyway–I’ll have to pay for a place to stay no matter where I am, and if I’m in London I can go to free museums and maybe spend time with my friend there, if she’s not too busy with end of term stuff. Or I could totally splurge and go to Scotland or Wales or the Lake District or somewhere else I haven’t been! Not exactly looking forward to going on my own, but I’m sure I’ll have a good time either way. The other option is to pay to stay in Oxford and get some rest before Blackpool/Ireland… but I can sleep when I’m dead in Vermont, right?

I think I’m going to be roped into stage managing the Christmas chapel production that I mentioned before, but it’s a roping I’m comfortable with; sure, I’ve never stage-managed before, but how hard can it be? Haha. Honestly, at this point I welcome being involved in anything that includes other human beings. The kind that haven’t been dead for hundreds of years.

Final news item: I have a movie rental membership! I think a few of you know how much that means to me. It’s a bit ridiculously out-of-proportion, how much I like to go to video stores, but there it is. It’s not as good as Pleasant St but it is independently owned and close to where I live, and thankfully I’m in contact with my Northampton movie gurus so I can continue my tradition of watching whatever they tell me to. Next on the agenda is “Life is Sweet,” a film by Mark Leigh.

It’s Thursday, so the antiques market is here at Gloucester Green. I’m dressed cute for the tutorial I had this morning, it is almost sunny (or rather, not raining), and I did okay with Chaucer this week. I wrote an appropriately feminist-y paper on The Legend of Good Women, and I managed to make a few good points despite a lack of secondary-source cooperation. Two mochas and a chocolate croissant have pushed this day over the edge of fine into the realm of good. I’m tired, but good.

xx

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessie permalink
    November 20, 2009 3:22 pm

    Excuse me, but you can sleep when you aren’t with your best friends in the entire world who have been waiting MONTHS to see you and have been generally broken-hearted and pining. And when we don’t have gay social events to attend. No sleeping for a week in VT for you, I can tell you that right now.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

