Skip to content

The “After” Photos: Or, how one occupies one’s time

October 6, 2009
tags:

So I showed you all pictures of my grungy room; now, by virtue of not wanting to go to the “Freshers’ Bop” this evening (a dance-and-drinking event at the college bar, because the freshers arrived today), my room is neat and tidy. In the extreme. Someone came by today while I was out to make my bed with fresh linens and stack away the extra bed (I don’t think I’ll ever get used to this scout business, I would much rather clean and launder for myself), so this evening I finished the job by scrubbing down my bathroom, dusting surfaces, rearranging furniture, putting away all of my things in an obsessively organized fashion, and putting up the postcards and photos that I brought with me.

The only thing left to do is vacuum, and I don’t know if there is one around that I can use. It’s a bit late for that, so I’m not going to try and find one now, but since it’s really the only thing left to do it is really bugging me. Reaaally. I forgot how OCD I can get when I’m under pressure.

So here are some new photos of my room, which is actually really growing on me. I love having my own space.

IMG_4707

IMG_4708

IMG_4709

IMG_4710

IMG_4711

Even the back of my door is neat.

IMG_4712

Shiny bathroom. I am so glad it’s clean–I bought a disinfecting spray and went to town. I won’t go into details of how gross the surfaces were. Ew, college.

IMG_4713

I feel a lot better now that I’m more settled and fully unpacked. I still have a few things I need to buy (I have an electric teakettle but no tea, for example), and these walls are begging for some posters, but at least I feel like I have officially moved in!

Today, in between orientation things, I met up with two Smithies for lunch: one who was at Worcester for her year abroad and is now doing graduate work at Jesus, and one who is currently at King’s College in London. I was really happy that I got to chat with them for a bit, especially because yesterday was Mountain Day (a Smith tradition).

Tomorrow we visiting students get thrown in with the Freshers for the first time, and even if they are a bit younger I will be very glad to mix with British students, as this will be the first time I haven’t been on my own or herded with other Americans. I am also going to go meet my tutor for my secondary on Jane Austen, and I really hope he sets me some work or reading because I am ready to get started!

Cheers to clean rooms, English lit, Smith, and everyone that I am missing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandma Jeanne permalink
    October 8, 2009 11:43 am

    Here’s to making your space your own!! Now LIFE can begin. Love, me

  2. Jessie permalink
    October 9, 2009 9:59 pm

    SO neat! Unbelievable considering your room last year. And your room at home. I am wearing a pair of your jeans right now. And my “leather jacket” and my weird South American inspired Elizabeth leg warmers and new black boots. In other words, a little butch, but still likely to get hit on by men. And very unlikely to get hit on by women (but that really goes without saying). Unfortunately I am in the UMall food court waiting for my glasses to be ready which means that
    A) probably anyone who would hit on me is sketchy
    and
    B) ew.

    But they are playing Battlefield, so all is well!

    Love you so much!

  3. Jeneane Lunn permalink
    October 11, 2009 1:24 pm

    Hey, loved the pics of your room. I can’t believe they didn’t clean it for you. Just a test probably. Does she really want to be at Oxford? Glad to find out what Jessie was wearing while waiting for her glasses. I actually see blue sky out there. All it does here is rain or act like it might rain. Remember? I never got you to make a necklace for my mom. Time went too fast, but now it is too slow. Something about school time. Have fun with Jane.
    lvoe Jeneane

Leave a Reply

